LearningExpress Library Additions and Updates

LearningExpress is happy to announce the following updates and additions to LearningExpress Library.

• New eBooks
• New Practice Exams:
  • ParaPro Assessment Exams 1 & 2
  • Registered Medical Assistant (RMA) Practice Exams 1 & 2
  • Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC®)
    Practice Exams 1 & 2

New eBooks Available in LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library’s expanding list of eBooks has grown to almost 200 career guides and study aides, each designed to help people prepare for high-stakes tests—to pass licensing, certification, and competitive entry-level exams, or to advance in school or in their careers.

The following new eBooks are now available:

• Academic Test Preparation
• Pre-GED Language Arts, Writing
• Geometry Success in 20 Minutes a Day, 3e
• College Admissions
• Write Your Way into College: College Admissions Essay
• Public Speaking
• Public Speaking Success in 20 Minutes a Day
• Homeschooling
• Homeschooling FAQs
• Workplace Skills and Career Tools
• Becoming a Culinary Arts Professional
• PRAXIS II: ParaPro Test Prep (0755 &1755)
• TOEIC Test Prep

LearningExpress’s ParaPro Assessment Practice Exams
ETS’s Parapro Assessment, part of the Praxis Series™*, is used to measure practicing and prospective paraprofessionals’ competencies in reading, writing, and basic math. Achieving a passing score on Parapro Assessment is often a requirement for certification as a teacher’s aide or assistant in many states.

LearningExpress now offers practice exam 1 and 2 online that duplicate the format, content, timing, and scoring of the official ParaPro Assessment, part of the Praxis Series™.

LearningExpress’ Registered Medical Assistant (RMA) Practice Exams
According to the American Medical Technologists (AMT)*, having the RMA credential “translates to an advantage in the work place.” Medical Assistants who earn their certification by graduating from an accredited program and passing the AMT’s Registered Medical Assistant (RMA) Certification Exam enjoy increased job opportunities and security, and are recognized as being at the top of their fields and for their knowledge and competence.

The LearningExpress Registered Medical Assistant Practice Exams 1 and 2 offer Medical Assistant certification candidates the essential, authentic practice they need to perform their best on this crucial professional exam.

LearningExpress’ Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC®) Practice Exams

The Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC®) is the global standard for assessing English skills used in the workplace. According to ETS* (makers of the TOEIC), “TOEIC test scores are used by more than 9,000 companies, government agencies, and English language learning programs in more than 90 countries, and more than 5 million TOEIC tests were administered last year.”

Designed to match official ETS test specifications, LearningExpress TOEIC Practice Exams 1 and 2 offer students, job seekers, and employees the essential, authentic practice they need to perform their best on this crucial language assessment exam.

New LearningExpress Library Products Launching:

TOEIC Practice Exams
o TOEIC Practice Exam 1
o TOEIC Practice Exam 2

Quick Fact: According to ETS*, more than 5 million TOEIC tests were administered last year.

AMT Registered Medical Assistant (RMA) Practice Exams
o Registered Medical Assistant Practice Exam 1
o Registered Medical Assistant Practice Exam 2

Quick Fact:According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics:

Medical assistants perform administrative and clinical tasks to keep the offices of physicians, podiatrists, chiropractors, and other health practitioners running smoothly.

o Medical assistants held about 483,000 jobs in 2008.
o The average annual income in 2008 was $28,300.
o The number of jobs in medical assisting is expected to grow 34% by 2018.

ParaPro Assessment Practice Exams
o ParaPro Assessment
Practice Exam 1
o ParaPro Assessment
Practice Exam 2

*Please note: ETS was not involved in the production of, and does not endorse, this product.

Visit Olean Public Library’s database page to access LearningExpress Library with your library card!

Need Some Help Updating Your Resume?

On October 20, 2010, the Olean Public Library launched Optimal Resume, a web-based program that allows patrons to create high-quality multimedia resumes and share them online.

Unlike creating a resume in a word processing program, Optimal Resume offers styled templates and easy formatting, along with industry-specific samples and instructions. All a user has to do is enter relevant information in structured categories (such as work history, educational background, and professional certifications) and Optimal Resume will generate a resume that can be downloaded to your computer, printed off, or published online.

Users can turn their resumes into professional websites, with the option to include links to their accounts on sites like LinkedIn and Twitter.

Patrons can also open themselves to job opportunities by submitting one resume into ResumeGPS, an employer-searchable resume database.

Optimal Resume also allows users to create portfolios of their written works, photography, presentations, or other projects. Users can also (with the necessary hardware) record a video resume, allowing them to make a positive first impression as if they were meeting employers in person. Both portfolios and video resumes can be included on users’ websites.

This service is offered completely free-of-charge. Because the service is web-based, patrons can access it from any computer by visiting oleanlibrary.optimalresume.com and using their library card number to create their account.

 

OLEAN PUBLIC LIBRARY LAUNCHES COMPREHENSIVE ONLINE JOB SEARCH TOOL PROVIDING STEP-BY-STEP ASSISTANCE IN FINDING JOBS

For job seekers in Olean, help has arrived! Job & Career Accelerator, a comprehensive online job search system, is now available to help overwhelmed job seekers find employment. This innovative online resource provides job seekers everything they need to find their next job, all in one easy-to-use application. The online program is available to patrons of the Olean Public Library at no charge with their library card and can be accessed at Olean Public Library or from any internet-enabled computer by going to http://www.oleanlibrary.org.

LearningExpress Job & Career Accelerator™ provides personalized, step-by-step assistance for job seekers at all experience and education levels—from exploring and matching suitable occupations from over 1,000 detailed occupation profiles to finding available jobs in their area from a database of over 5 million up-to-date job postings. With Job & Career Accelerator, users can easily create professional resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, improve work related skills, and prepare for occupation related exams. In addition, it helps job seekers plan, tailor, and track multiple job searches at the same time while providing expert advice and tips every step. The end result is the most efficient and effective job search possible.

To find out more about how you can access Job & Career Accelerator, call (716) 372-0200 or stop by the Reference Desk and ask for more information.

Our new Job and Career Accelerator Database

Click on this link to watch a presentation on how to use our newest database, “Job and Career Accelerator.”  This database can match you and an occupation that you are interested in and also has the ability to search for jobs, help you prepare resumes and cover letters and offers interview advice.

Medline Plus

All the health information you need in one trusty website! FREE!!

MedlinePlus is a web site created for consumers by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Institutes of Health (NIH).  It is the free health information web site that doctors recommend for health information.  MedlinePlus accepts no advertising.  You can find quality health information from reliable sources in both English and Spanish.

• Health Topics – Information on condition, diseases and staying well.
• Interactive Tutorials – more than 170 slide shows with sounds and pictures.
• Drug Information – About you prescription and over the counter medicines, herbs, and supplements.
• Medical Encyclopedia – Includes pictures and diagrams.
• Directories – Finds doctors, dentists and hospitals.
• Dictionary – Spellings and definitions of medical words.
• Latest Research – Provided From MEDLINE and the ClinicalTrials.gov databases.
• News – Latest health news.
• Go Local – Find services in your community.

You are able to use this resource at home or at the library by going to www.medlineplus.gov.